I’ve Never Worn a Onesie, but…

15. Have you ever worn an adult onesie? Where do you wear it?

Rachella Angel Page
2 min readMay 15, 2023
Photo by Mariano Nocetti on Unsplash

I love the idea of one piece of clothing. Or even a matching set of clothing.

Perhaps I’ve never worn a onesie because of physical conditions. When your calves are constantly swollen to look like tree trunks, it’s hard to get them into any type of pants. Even jeans.

I make do with Palazzo pants and wide-leg trousers.

I think that a jumpsuit is a better alternative to only wearing one piece of clothing than a onesie. They look a little more doable.

However, my favorite one-piece type of clothing is dresses.

Don’t get me wrong, I’m usually a pants and tee shirt kind of girl. However, I find myself craving a dress a few days a week.

Dresses display a lot of personality. A solid color maxi that seems to float around your legs and brush the floor when walking. A shorter stripey deal that reminds me of one of my favorite literary settings- the circus. My knee-length 100-day plain black button-down dress can be worn so many different ways.

It’s an easy throw-on-and-go type of deal. Maybe throw on a jacket if it’s cold. I’d take that any day.

It’s simple and doesn’t require a lot of thought.

Plus, I’m proud to wear it in public.

I don’t know if I could say that for a onesie. The onesie would be for wear around the house only.

Today’s post is in response to Keeley Schroder’s May Mania prompt challenge.

--

--

Rachella Angel Page

Lifestyle and creative non-fiction writer. Wife. Momma of two dogs: Maxwell and Lady. Obsessed with road trips, poetry and Kickstart. IG: @pagesofrachella